Walking the 5k

Confound expectations

I’m going to do it! I had this brilliant idea while I was walking this morning. I could find a race, probably 5K to start out, then I’m going to enter. I’m going to do it! I’ve always been clumsy on my feet and this will be a way to prove how good I’ve become.
I’ve been walking for about a year now and for at least the last 6 to 8 months I’ve been doing it just about every day. I used to have a neighbor who I would see out for a daily walk but either I was working or I was worried I would have a fall if I gave it a try,so I never did. I did buy and use a stationary bike for a couple of years but I stopped because it became so boring.Even if I played music, it just wasn’t enough.

I should stop here and explain that I have cerebral palsy, which was mentioned in a previous post, and though I although I walk just fine my balance is less than stellar. I fall a lot, always have, so as you can imagine any kind of walk, hike, you name it, I have avoided like the plague all my life until as I said above, a year or so ago.
Enter retirement and a big change for me. Up to then I had been a certified nursing assistant working in clients homes. Its a very physical job and the mainstay of my exercise routine.
After I retired I spent more and more time working on my laptop. I started the Ancientfoods blog, and worked on several web sites. In short I sat most of the day. It was then my back started to give me trouble. I put tiger balm on my back took a Tylenol and thought I’d be fine but you know how these things are, it crept up on me until I was in mind numbing pain all the time. I did go to the doctor and found help there, but just as much help or maybe more so, I started walking to keep my muscles loose and flexible. At first I would walk one or two days a week, those were the days I was at my best but…I was still afraid I would fall, and break something, something I needed like my right leg or hand, something I can’t do without! I needed to feel safe and secure but just as important I began to realize I needed to do the thing I was most afraid to do, I needed to walk, every day.
I remembered the line from Dune ” Fear is the mind killer, fear is the little death.. The real quote is even better.”
ā€œI must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.ā€
ā€• Frank Herbert, Dune
How powerful,is that! So I decided the best thing was to get equipment, like shoes, that I could count on and get out and get started.
That was about a year ago and since that time with just a few exceptions I’m out in the rain, wind, and sunshine. I do draw the line at ice and snow but that hardly counts for much in the Pacific Northwest.
I can’t say I’ve lost weight yet, but I do have a tan and a lot more confidence. Oh,and listing to music really motivates me for those who need a push to get going I recommend it.
So, going back to the beginning, after a year of walking I’ve not only decided that this is my new way of life I’ve decided to find a 5k walk, say next spring or early summer and enter, to see how well I can do and to present myself the challenge as my next step.
I’ll keep you poster.

To be continued:
By Joanna Linsley-Poe

The picture below is of New Balance 847 motion control shoes
What a difference the right shoe makes.

IMG_0895.JPG

Leave a Reply

